03
Nov
11

Prayers for the Week

Michael says:
This week we have learnt two new prayers at St Paul’s.

The first on Sunday that I have used as a daily prayer;
Lord of life, you created the universe where all things reflect your glory. You give us this great and beautiful earth to discover and cherish. You have removed the sting of death and given us hope of resurrection by the glorious promise of Jesus’ risen life. You made us all, each wonderfully diffferent, to join with the angels and sing your praise. Help us Father, to love one another and to work together for that day when the whole world is fed, suffering is ended and all creation is gathered in your loving arms. And now with all your saints we give you glory , through Jesus Christ, in the strength of the Spirit, today and for ever. Amen

The second new prayer was at the Steps course; A prayer for colour in my life.
Lord I pray for the colour in my life to enhance my relationships with you and everyone I meet. Give me the red of days so that I can share it with others. Give me heavenly blue to help me live as you intended. Give me sunshine yellow for the dark places of my soul. Give me the green of springtime to dispel resignation and hopelessness. Give me the purple of repentance to help me make a fresh start in my life. Give me the orange of fire for inner energy. Give me the brown of earth for stability and endurance. Give me the black of mourning so that when the time comes I can say my goodbyes. Open up in me a clean white page for you to write your words upon my heart.
And Lord now and then show me a glorious rainbow as a reminder that you are always with me. Amen

 

1 Response to “Prayers for the Week”


  1. 1 Bridget Campbell
    4 November, 2011 at 11:58 am

    Thank you Michael – for your thoughtfulness and for you eagerness to share with others. We are blessed to have you as friend and colleague.


Leave a Reply

